Review: LABYRINTH LOST

by Zoraida Cordova
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Published: September 6th, 2016

Book 1 of the Brooklyn Brujas trilogy

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.
LL
Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, lea
ving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

OMG this book. I devoured it in one sitting and LOVED it. There was so much suspense it kept me flipping through the pages late into the night.

I sunk right into the book from the beginning and transitioned into Alex’s world in the blink of an eye (which is not always the case for me and fantasy novels). There were plenty of phrases and sentences I re-read to appreciate. I laughed out loud at the use of “resting witch face” and how Rishi “likes her days with a side of weird.” (As do I, Rishi.)

I loved the characters, the twists, the Latin culture woven in so beautifully and seamlessly. I loved how well-thought out everything was, and found myself saying OMG out loud multiple times toward the end, and stopping to think back on events that had happened before. (Sorry, can’t say more for fear of spoilers.)

I am in love with the theme of family and blood throughout this, and related so much to Alex questioning who she was, where she came from, and feeling very “other.”

Quotation

I want to be the girl who goes to concerts and hangs out after school and everyone laughs at her jokes because she’s effortlessly funny, and look at her hair; it’s so shiny…I want to be that girl.

Instead, I’m the girl with a jar of sugar and an impending magic spell waiting for her at sunset.Quotation 2

Quotation

Sometimes I’m afraid I’ve put on so many masks that one day I won’t be able to recognize who I am. Quotation 2

Quotation

Nova stares at me. I hate that it makes me feel exposed, judged even. I can practically feel his thoughts racing. ..Perhaps I’m not special in feeling this way, like I’m in a body that doesn’t fit quite right, but saying the words aloud makes me Quotation 2realize that, maybe, I can change my fate.

I was completely immersed in the world of Los Lagos, which to me felt like an even darker, more fascinating Wonderland. I had a vivid picture in my head of the land and creatures as I read.

And I love love love how the story wrapped up well yet also ended with an epilogue that had me freaking out that I didn’t have the second book! I highly highly recommend this book and CAN’T WAIT for the rest of the series. One of the best fantasies I’ve read in a long long time!

And the book has been optioned by Paramount! I cannot wait for Los Lagos to be brought to the big screen! Check out the announcement here!

Leave a Reply

