Moving Forward

Happy July 4th everyone! Hope you have a great day full of family, love, relaxation, and BBQ!

I recently had to rearrange my bookshelf to make room for all my shiny new BEA ARCs as well as the books on books on books I bought after the synopses turned me into Gollum. Books are my weakness. I buy them faster than I can read them and have a perpetual TBR pile. (Not that I’m complaining…it’s a good problem to have.)

I ended up removing all my dental textbooks from the shelf, storing them away, and replacing them with my new young adult goodies. I didn’t think anything while I was doing it, but after, I realized how fitting a metaphor it was for my life. And it made me happy. All that fear and stress that used to plague me about this risky (and some might say crazy) decision is finally gone.

Ironically, immediately after storing the dental books away, I had to dig them back out. My brother called asking for antibiotics recommendations following a post-extraction complication, and it was the first time in 3 years that I’ve had to look through my dental notes. Given my 3 years away, I didn’t trust my memory, but surprisingly, I remembered the information. It’s funny the type of information your brain decides to hold onto. I have trouble remembering names of people I had entire conversations with, but antibiotic dosing and the benefits of Clindamycin versus Metranidazole are stamped in there.

2016-06-16 17.41.03

 

The only dental remnant on the shelf is this little guy at the top. I guess we can let him stay. 2016-06-16 17.41.18.jpg

Some of my upcoming reads (that don’t quite fit on the shelf and still need a home…right now they’re all around the apartment because I’m halfway through two of them and the rest are just too pretty to put away):

2016-06-15 17.02.17.jpg

It certainly feels like summer!

2016-06-15 18.04.41.jpg

Reviews to come!

9 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. erinkbay says:

    This is so funny because I just spent last night clearing out some books so that I could have more bookshelf space! I also have a terrible book-buying habit AAAHHH! But I’m so glad you’re feeling great about the decision you’ve made with writing! Job vs. Writing has been one of the most conflicting things in my life so yay!!!! I’m so happy things are working out!!! 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sjhigbee says:

    *sigh* I, too, have a terrible book-buying habit, aggravated by the fact that I live with someone who is even more of a book squirrel than me… You can imagine the chaos that reigns in our house!
    It’s funny what makes us decide to finally let go of aspects of our former lives, isn’t it? I’m guessing your subconscious has decided now is the time to face forward and embrace your future – which is an awesome feat:). Wishing you all the best luck in the world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

