My Novel Has Found Not Just A Publishing House But A Home

I’m beyond delighted, beyond thrilled, beyond ecstatic to share that my YA contemporary novel about a Taiwanese-American teen has sold to Jennifer Ung at Simon Pulse/Simon & Schuster!

I am so impressed with Jen and the Simon Pulse team already, and I can’t wait to work with them. I cried when I read Jen’s letter that accompanied the offer, and I cried when I heard that the entire team supported my diverse #ownstory. When I started on this journey, I never even dreamed of finding an editor that understood my book so well let alone an entire team that would connect with it. I am completely confident that my labor of love, the story that I’ve bled for and risked my relationship with my parents for, has found the right home.

I still can’t believe my book is going to be a real book. I’ll be able to hold it and flip through it and pet it…I mean, admire the cover…like a normal person.

Expected publication: Spring of 2018.

Here it is on Goodreads! I still can’t believe I get to say that!

American Panda


Here’s the Publishers Weekly Announcement:

Screenshot 2016-08-28 21.43.13 (2)

And the Publishers Lunch Announcement:

Screenshot 2016-08-30 16.15.56 (2).jpg

 

Cheers! From my husband and my celebration dinner:

2016-06-26 18.25.03

And a lovely, thoughtful, and delicious congratulatory gift from a dear friend:

 

To the writers out there, keep writing! Keep revising! Keep reading! Keep submitting! Dreams do come true.

 

Thank you to Jen and Simon Pulse for understanding my characters and me so well, and for finding my jokes funny!

Thank you to Kathleen, my talented rockstar agent, for all your hard work and for believing in my words and me. My career couldn’t be in better hands.

Thank you to the writing community for your support and optimism! I’m proud to be a part of this group! Your outpouring of love and support when the deal was announced blew me away. You made an amazing day even more dream-like! I’m so grateful for all the new friends I made and for all the friends who have supported me thus far in this journey.

 

And always, thank you to Anthony for being my rock, my love, my best friend, and my #1 fan.

10 thoughts on “My Novel Has Found Not Just A Publishing House But A Home

Leave a Reply

